54 Undergraduates Inducted into Biological Honor Society

Tribeta biology national honor society inductionNSU’s Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences hosted its 11th annual induction ceremony for Beta Beta Beta (TriBeta), the national biological honor society, on Apr. 2. This year, the college inducted 54 undergraduate biology majors into the society’s Rho Rho chapter.

TriBeta is dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study, and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. To be eligible for membership, students must have a 3.2 GPA overall (3.0 GPA in the major) and have completed at least 45 credits toward their degree (including at least three biology courses).

The ceremony opened with congratulatory remarks by Don Rosenblum, Ph.D., dean of the college, and a welcome from Aurelien Tartar, Ph.D., associate professor at the college and current TriBeta faculty adviser.

TriBeta president Eduardo Carrera and secretary Lauren Llorente then led the new inductees in reciting the society’s membership pledge. Each student also signed his or her name in the TriBeta membership book, solidifying induction into the honor society.

The formal portion of the ceremony closed with a brief sendoff by James Munoz, Ph.D., assistant professor at the college. Next year, Munoz will become the fourth college faculty member to serve as adviser for NSU’s TriBeta chapter, established in 2003. Munoz succeeds Tartar; Joshua Loomis, Ph.D., assistant professor; and Emily Schmitt, Ph.D., associate professor and coordinator of biological sciences.

TriBeta members were then joined by faculty, college leadership, family members, and friends for a celebratory reception.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar