Provost’s Research and Scholarship Award

Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Executive Vice President and Provost Ralph V. Rogers Jr., Ph.D., recently presented Linda Sobell, Ph.D., with the 8th Annual Provost’s Research and Scholarship Award.

The purpose of the award is to recognize a faculty member who has demonstrated significant achievement in support of NSU’s mission to foster scholarship, intellectual inquiry, and academic excellence. Research and scholarship are two of NSU’s eight core values, and excellence in these areas enhances education, patient care, and public service, and develops superior scholarship.

The announcement was made at the External Funding Recognition Reception, hosted by Gary S. Margules, Sc.D., vice president of NSU’s Office of Research and Technology Transfer. At this event, faculty members from all disciplines across the university are recognized for their commitment to advancing their fields of study.

“I am proud to honor a faculty member whose extraordinary accomplishments distinguish her in a community of bright, thoughtful, and engaged people” said Dr. Rogers.

Dr. Linda Sobell is recognized nationally and internationally as a leader in psychology and in the addictions field.  During her career, she made several distinguished theoretical and empirical behavioral advances in the addictions field, advances which have led to the understanding or amelioration of important clinical problems.

The excellence and importance of Dr. Sobell’s work has been widely recognized. A Google Scholar search yielded more than 20,000 citations of her work since 1992. In addition, she has been the recipient of grants from multiple federal agencies. Her role as a mentor and role model to students and young faculty has made a significant difference in the careers of aspiring researchers in the substance abuse field.   Dr. Sobell has received numerous awards honoring her accomplishments, and is currently serving  on the editorial boards of 9 peer review journals and is an Associate Editor for a highly successful book series.

Previous Provosts Research and Scholarship Award winners include*:

2017: Mahmood Shivji, Ph.D.

2016: Robert Speth, Ph.D., Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences, NSU’s College of Pharmacy

2015: Nancy Klimas, M.D., director of the NSU Institute for Neuro-Immune Medicine, professor of medicine, and chair of the Department of Clinical Immunology at NSU’s College of Osteopathic Medicine

2014: Sam Purkis, Ph.D., M.B.A, associate professor at NSU’s Oceanographic Center

2013: Raymond Ownby, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A., professor and chair of NSU’s College of Osteopathic Medicine Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine

2012: Bernard Riegl, Ph.D., associate director of the NSU’s National Coral Reef Institute and professor at the Oceanographic Center

2012: Steven Kurtz, Ph.D., co-director for the NSU’s Center for Applied Research on Substance Use and Health Disparities and professor in the Division of Applied Interdisciplinary Studies

2011: Mark B. Sobell, Ph.D., ABPP, NSU’s Center for Psychological Studies

*Denotes titles and college names at the time the award was presented

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar