NSU Students Inducted into English, Communication National Honor Societies

NSU’s Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences hosted a dual induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, to recognize students joining Sigma Tau Delta and Lambda Pi Eta, the national honor societies for English and communication studies, respectively.

NSU students inducted into national honor societies
NSU students inducted into national honor societies.

“Congratulations to all of our inductees,” said Don Rosenblum, Ph.D., dean of the college, who provided welcoming remarks at the ceremony. “This is the highest recognition within your respective field, and membership in these honor societies will benefit you throughout your professional careers.”

Rosenblum also acknowledged the numerous faculty, friends, and family members who have supported the students and have aided in their academic success.

Marlisa Santos, Ph.D., director of the college’s Division of Humanities and faculty adviser for Sigma Tau Delta, then led the induction of new members. To be eligible for Sigma Tau Delta, students studying English must maintain a 3.0 GPA, rank within the top 35 percentile of their class, and have completed at least three semesters of college courses.

This year’s Sigma Tau Delta inductees include English majors Kareen Barakat, Geraldine Macaisa, and Melissa Villalobos, as well as M.A. in Writing students Michelle Lopata, Keren Moros, Sara Stanley, and Shannon Welte.

The ceremony continued with the induction of new Lambda Pi Eta members, led by faculty adviser Megan Fitzgerald, Ph.D., assistant professor at the college. To be eligible for Lambda Pi Eta, students must have earned at least 60 credit hours at NSU, maintain a 3.0 GPA overall (2.5 GPA in the major), and rank within the top 35 percentile of their class.

This year’s Lambda Pi Eta inductees include communication studies majors Anakarina Cuccurullo, Kriscia Del Rio, Stacy Gaspard, Haydeli Ko, Julia Lopez, and Candice Viggiano.

Following the formal induction ceremonies, the new honor society members joined fellow students, faculty, family, and friends for a celebratory reception.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar