NSU Law Students Win National Health Law Transaction Competition

left to right: A. Shawn Murray, Jennifer Palacio, Donna Litman and Matthew Horton. Photo courtesy of: Brad Synder

A team of Nova Southeastern University third-year law students, Matthew Horton, A. Shawn Murray, and Jennifer Palacio, placed first as the overall champion at The L. Edward Bryant, Jr., National Health Law Transactional Competition at Loyola University School of Law in Chicago. The team also won Best Oral Presentation and received an Honorable Mention for third place for the Best Memorandum. Sixteen teams competed from around the country. The competition, held on March 22, 2013, was based on providing advice to a physician group regarding integration options in structuring their practice in the future.

Additionally, in early November 2012, second-year students Lauren Capriotti and Barry Chenman finished within the top eight out of thirty-two teams at the National Health Law Moot Court Competition at Southern Illinois University College of Law in Carbondale, IL. That competition involved a section 1983 case alleging violation of a constitutional right of privacy in electronic medical records.

This year was the first time that NSU Law has participated in either of these competitions. Professors of Law Kathy Cerminara, Donna Litman, and Kathryn Webber, along with Adjunct Professor Gerald Morris ’77; alumni Troy Kishbaugh ‘98, Nicole Sauvola ‘01, Michael Igel ‘06, Erica Galpern Waxman ‘06, Joanne Charles ‘07, and Frederick Segal ‘07; health care lawyer Gabriel Imperato; and Joseph Cobo, the Greenwalds, and Robert Horton, student family members in the health care field, assisted in preparing the teams for competition. These accomplishments would not have been possible without the help of our alumni, who hold a strong connection to NSU Law by giving back and helping our students achieve success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar