NSU Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences Associate Professor Wins Writing Center Award

DvorakKevin Dvorak, Ph.D., associate professor and coordinator of the writing center at the Farquhar College of Arts and Sciences, has earned the 2014 Southeastern Writing Center Association (SWCA) Achievement Award. According to SWCA, the honor “recognizes the outstanding, sustained body of work of a writing center director or supervisor to a particular writing center, SWCA, and/or the writing center community at large.” Dvorak has served as president of the SWCA and has chaired the organization’s annual conference. He is currently president of the International Writing Centers Association.

At NSU, Dvorak serves as faculty adviser for the college’s Writing Fellows program, established in fall 2011. Through the program, fellows—undergraduate and graduate students who excel in writing—provide course-based writing assistance to students enrolled in first-year composition and undergraduate writing classes across the curriculum. The fellows assist students throughout all stages of the writing process and with general writing skills by attending classes, meeting with individual students, and discussing goals and student progress with faculty members.

Additionally, several writing fellows have presented at conferences across the state and nation under Dvorak’s mentorship. In November, Dvorak joined undergraduate students Sophia Gourgiotis, Nicole Melendez, Angelica Zadak, and University School faculty Jaimie Crawford to present a roundtable discussion in Tampa at the National Conference on Peer Tutoring in Writing.

Dvorak will receive the award during the 2014 SWCA Conference, to be held Feb. 6–8 at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. NSU hosted the 2013 SWCA Conference this past February, with Dvorak serving as co-chair alongside Shanti Bruce, Ph.D., associate professor and coordinator of the writing program at the college.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar