NSU Chancellor Fred Lippman Named to Florida TaxWatch Board

FORT LAUDERDALE-DAVIE, Fla.- Dominic M. Calabro, president and CEO of Florida TaxWatch, recently announced the appointment of Fred Lippman, R.Ph., Ed.D., chancellor of Nova Southeastern University’s (NSU) Health Professions Division, to the organization’s Board of Trustees.

“I have known Dr. Fred Lippman personally and professionally for nearly 30 years as both a well-respected professional and dedicated public servant, in Florida and his local community,” said Calabro. “TaxWatch is very pleased to have Dr. Lippman serve with us and so many other distinguished Floridians to improve the lives and livelihoods of the people of the Sunshine State for years to come.”

Florida TaxWatch is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institute widely recognized as the watchdog of citizens’ hard-earned tax dollars for more than 33 years. Its mission is to provide the citizens of Florida and public officials with high quality, independent research on government revenues, expenditures, taxation, public policies and programs and to increase the productivity and accountability of Florida Government.

As chancellor of NSU’s Health Professions Division, Lippman is responsible for overseeing seven colleges, including dental medicine, health care sciences, medical sciences, nursing, pharmacy, optometry, and osteopathic medicine.

Lippman joined the Southeastern University College of Pharmacy in 1987 as vice president for pharmaceutical affairs. In 1989, he was promoted to vice president for external affairs for Southeastern University of the Health Sciences, which merged with Nova University in 1994 to create NSU. He was appointed chancellor of NSU’s Health Professions Division in 2004.

Prior to joining NSU, Lippman served as a community pharmacist for more than 20 years. He has been widely recognized by academic and health care societies and has held important leadership positions in professional organizations. Among his numerous awards and activities, he was the 1986 recipient of the American Pharmaceutical Association’s Hubert H. Humphrey Award for Excellence in Pharmacy, a past President of the Broward County Pharmacists Association, and a former Speaker of the House of Delegates of the Florida Pharmacy Association.

Lippman served as a member of the Florida House of Representatives from 1978-1998 and was widely respected for championing legislation to protect children and senior citizens, and to improve Florida’s health care system.

Among his many honors, he was honored as a “Health Care Hero” in 2012 by the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, “Child Advocate of the Year” in 1996 by the Florida Pediatric Society, and as “Outstanding Advocate” in 1997 by the Institute of Holocaust Documentation at Florida International University for his leadership in adopting Holocaust educational curricula in the state of Florida.

Lippman received his degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences at Columbia University College of Pharmacy and holds a doctorate in Higher Education Administration from NSU.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar