Nova Southeastern University Pharmacy Professor Earns Prestigious Fellowship

Barry BleidtFORT LAUDERDALE-DAVIE, Fla. – Barry Bleidt, Ph.D., Pharm.D., R.Ph., a professor in the Sociobehavioral and Administrative Pharmacy Department at Nova Southeastern University’s (NSU) College of Pharmacy, was among a select group of five pharmaceutical researchers elected as a fellow of the American Pharmacists Association’s Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) at the organization’s 2015 Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Diego, California.

APhA-APRS stimulates the discovery, dissemination and application of research to improve patient health and serves pharmacists and those members who are involved in the pharmaceutical sciences.

Fellows are either members of the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) or the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) with a minimum of 10 years professional experience. To become a fellow, members must have demonstrated exemplary professional achievements and service to the profession through activities with APhA and other national, state or local professional organizations.

“Becoming a fellow in the American Pharmacists Association – Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research is one of the highest honors I have earned,” said Bleidt. “It is very meaningful to receive this honor and I am grateful to the support Nova Southeastern University has provided me to be able to achieve this level in the pharmacy profession.”

“This award recognizes Dr. Bleidt’s sustained contributions to the profession of pharmacy over the past three decades,” said Lisa Deziel, Pharm.D., Ph.D., dean of NSU’s College of Pharmacy. “This is a testament to the level of researchers we have on our faculty and the importance we place on service to the profession.”

Bleidt joined NSU in 2012. He has served in academia for more than 30 years.

Bleidt earned his Pharm.D. with a special emphasis in pharmacokinetics and pharmacoeconomics from Xavier University of Louisiana in New Orleans, his Ph.D. in pharmacy healthcare administration from the University of Florida (UF) in Gainesville, and his bachelor of science in pharmacy from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy in Lexington. He also completed a research fellowship with the National Institutes of Health at UF.

Among many other awards, Bleidt received the 2013 Chauncey I. Cooper Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the National Pharmaceutical Association.


About APhA-APRS: The APhA-Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) stimulates the discovery, dissemination and application of research to improve patient health and serves pharmacists and those members who are involved in the pharmaceutical sciences. Members of APhA may choose to belong to a primary section within APhA-APRS based on their area of research. APhA-APRS is governed by an Executive Council comprised of elected leaders from the three Sections of APhA-APRS: Basic Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences. Members receive access to continuing education, an online community for pharmacists, networking and leadership opportunities, premier research journals such as JAPhA and JPharmSci, cutting edge information on Medication Therapy Management and regulatory issues facing the profession.

About Nova Southeastern University (NSU): Located in beautiful Fort Lauderdale, Florida, NSU is a dynamic research institution dedicated to providing high-quality educational programs at the undergraduate, graduate and first-professional degrees levels.  An independent, not-for-profit institution with approximately 25,000 students, NSU has campuses in Fort Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Miami, Miramar, Orlando, Palm Beach and Tampa, Florida as well as  San Juan, Puerto Rico and online globally.  For more than 50 years, NSU has been awarding degrees in a wide range of fields, while fostering groundbreaking research and an impactful commitment to community. Classified as a research university with “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, NSU is one of only 37 universities nationwide to also be awarded Carnegie’s Community Engagement Classification. For more information, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar