Medical School Students Capture Glory at FOMA Convention

Second-year College of Osteopathic Medicine student Austin Bach and Linda Delo, D.O., FOMA past president and 1986 NSU-COM alumna.
First-year NSU College of Osteopathic Medicine student Carisa Lippmann and Linda Delo.

During the 108th Annual Florida Osteopathic Medical Association (FOMA) Convention, held Feb. 24 to 27 at the Hyatt Regency Bonaventure in Weston, a number of NSU College of Osteopathic Medicine (NSU-COM) students were honored with various awards.

Winners of the FOMA Student Awards, which are presented each year to a first- and second-year COM student, were Carisa Lippmann, who received a $300 cash award, and Austin Bach, who received a $500 cash award. The FOMA Student Awards are based on criteria such as possessing leadership skills, supporting FOMA student district society initiatives, and showcasing significant interest in the osteopathic profession and osteopathic manipulative medicine.

Third-year student Allison Moore, who was the recipient of a FOMA Student Award in 2009 and 2010, received the FOMA Seltzer Legislative and Healthcare Policy Award, which is accompanied by a $250 cash prize. The Seltzer Award is presented to a student of good standing in the FOMA Student District Society at COM who possesses significant interest in the legislative process in the state of Florida, is politically active, possesses leadership qualities, and supports FOMA Legislative Committee initiatives.

Two third-year students who completed a core rotation at Florida Hospital East Orlando―Kristen Muller and Philip Valmores―each received a $5,000 scholarship from the Osteopathic Foundation of East Orlando for demonstrating excellence in leadership and academics. The scholarship is awarded to third-year core medical students from COM based on criteria such as exemplary grade-point average, personal statement, letters of recommendation, and curriculum vitae.

In another show of COM strength, third-year student Kobi Hano was named the winner of a $500 AFOMA Believes in You! Scholarship Award, which is presented by the Advocates of the Florida Medical Association (AFOMA). The award is partly based on a student’s interest in osteopathic medicine, activities in the profession, and leadership abilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar