Dennis Repeats as Member of the Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List

Dennis Repeats as Member of the Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List

PARKVILLE, Mo. – For the second time in as many years, Nova Southeastern point guard David Dennis has been selected to the Bevo Francis Award Top 100 Watch List, announced by Small College Basketball. The prestigious honor recognizes the cream of the crop nationwide throughout both NCAA Divisions II and Division III, NAIA Divisions I and II, as well as the USCAA and NCCAA.

As the team’s unquestioned leader, Dennis has helped guide the Sharks to an uncharted 14-1 start and a No. 6 ranking in the latest National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division II poll. The senior ranks among the nation’s leaders in both assists (6.7 apg) and steals (2.9 spg) to go along with 15.7 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. He has scored in double-figures in all but two contests, topping 20-plus points five times, while also registering three double-doubles.

“This was an extremely difficult process, and I am very thankful to our committee for their input and feedback on many players throughout the country,” said Small College Basketball Founder John McCarty. “When we look out over the landscape of small college basketball, we’re trying to find the best of the best, based on our criteria, out of about 1,100 – 1,200 colleges and universities.

“As such, it’s a real honor to be included on this prestigious list. Each of the players on this list is in the midst of a heck of a season, and I congratulate each and every one of them.”

The Bevo Francis award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence “Bevo” Francis. Francis played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande. In his first season, he led the team to a 39-0 record averaging 50.1 points per game, highlighted by a 116-point performance against Ashland College in Kentucky.

SCB will trim the Watch List to 50 players on Feb. 15. The list will then be narrowed down to 25 players on Mar. 15. The finalists will be revealed in a highlight video, set to be released on Apr. 6.

The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on Apr. 8. The award will be presented to the winner on May 11 at the SCB National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City, Mo.

To view all 100 players on the Watch List, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar